The Common Cold

Why do they call it that?

This is day eight for me with a cold and all the symptoms that come along with it.  I am afraid that I will blow my brains out through my nose, or even worse, cough up a lung.  I’ve been treating my symptoms with DayQuil/Nyquil but I’m still miserable. 

So what can a body with autoimmune issues do?  Just like normal people, nothing really except treat the symptoms.

With Addison’s Disease something as common as the “Common Cold” can quickly lead you into the horrible world of the ER.  Because I take steroids everyday to treat my adrenal insufficiency, my body is less able to fight off infection.  With a fever or without enough fluids a body can quickly dehydrate, which has always been a big problem for me.  With the “dehydration monsters” present you risk low potassium and low sodium, which can take me down the slippery road to an “Addisonian Crisis”.  A very unpleasant place to find yourself.

NASTY GERMS!

So, my advice to anyone visited by the common cold this winter is to

  • Rest, rest, rest
  • Drink Plenty of fluids
  • Try to eat something
  • Watch for a fever
  • Take whatever OTC “symptom killer” that you think might help (I like  Nyquil, it helps me sleep)
  • Wash your hands often to prevent spreading germs
  • See your doctor if needed

and

If you have adrenal insuffiency increase your steroid dose as recommemded by your physician.

My doctor has advised me what to do when I am sick, and you must check with your own physician to get a recommendation for you.

Remember we are all different! 

I have secondary adrenal insufficiency, and individuals that are primary or with other adrenal issues MUST talk to their doctor about their own treatment.  I am not a Doctor.

 

15 thoughts on “The Common Cold

  1. Thank you for this. I have had Addison’s since 2001 and this is a great way for others to understand how the little things of a cold can take longer to recuperate for us.

  2. Maureen, I found you!

    I’m so sorry you aren’t feeling well. I wish I knew of some magic cure. When I have a cold or the flu I take pseudoephedrine to keep my sinuses open and sometimes a benadryl to dry myself up (if I’m sneezing or my nose is running a lot). I can’t take Nyquil, it makes my heart palpitate (I’m having an echocardiogram done tomorrow to see about a heart murmur).

    Drinking lots of fluids is very good and so is Chicken Soup…homemade. Yum. If I cooked, I’d make you some. But then I’d have to figure out a way to get it to you. We still aren’t technically advanced to send stuff THRU the internet! 🙂

    Hugs for a quick recovery (( ))

    • Thanks Pamela! Hope the echocardiogram comes back with good results. And, I do need to make some chicken soup soon, I am feeling a little better today though. Day sixteen of this bug…hope it is over soon.

      Hope Houdini puppy is behaving for you.

      mo

  3. Glad you like the word bambler — since I tend to babble and ramble, it seemed like a good way to describe how I write at times.

    Sure hope you are feeling better! I’ve had a cold/virus for over 2 wks (course I don’t have the other issues you do), but it gets tiresome to feel okay one day, horrible with a cold/virus the next. Hope you are doing better.
    Better go before I bamble too much, lol

  4. oh my dear, I’m so sorry you are suffering with a nasty cold.

    I had no idea a cold could be so dangerous for you. Having to take steroids all the time must wreck havoc on your system, of course not as much as what they are treating I assume.

    I’m glad you stay in contact with your doctor and know just what to do when you feel under the weather (another euphemism I think is odd)

    Take care of you my friend.
    remember…drink lot’s of fluids. (I only say this because you said you have troubles with dehydration.) Would a humidifier help?
    I have to use one all winter, or my sinuses get all icky.

    hugs and chicken soup
    wendy

    • Wendy, I have great doctors who will always talk to me when I get “needy”, which seems like everytime I get sick. I have a humidifier on my furnace and oa vaporizer in my room. It does help with the sinuses I guess.
      And, chicken soup sounds so good right now!
      mo

  5. I’m so sorry that you are sick! There seems to be more stuff going around this winter than usual, or at least it seems that way. I really hope you feel better soon. I think it’s sort of ironic that we (we meaning those of us with autoimmune issues) have these hyperactive immune systems that attack things they shouldn’t – yet get overwhelmed by simple colds and viruses. 😦 It seems unfair. I think if my immune system is aggressive enough to attack *me*, then I think it should whoop the stuff we catch a lot faster. But alas, I do not make the rules. 😉

    I also want to tell you I LOVE the new blog look. I love this color. This is almost the exact color as my bedroom. My room is just a tad lighter, but this same shade. I find this color relaxing.

    Also I love that the new blog theme you chose is highly readable. For some reason it seems like many of the blogs I liked to follow (not all, but quite a few) changed their themes to themes with fonts that I find unreadable. Meaning, I can technically read it, but I can’t bear the eye muscle strain to do it. 😦 So thank you for keeping a great readability while still maintaining a nice style. Love it! 🙂

    Feel better soon!
    Deb

    • I seem to have a never-ending cold like you had in your house! No puking though. I like my new theme too, wanted something that was easy to read for everybody. I agree that some blogs with dark backgrounds and weird fonts are so hard to read sometimes. And blue is my favorite color. I am guilty of not finishing reading an interesting blog because it it too taxing because of the font, especially if it’s long. Hope everyone in our house is feeling good, especially you.
      mo

    • DorkyDeb: I recently changed my font back to Paprys for a while,the default font for my current template, I find hard to read, so when I can I change it to georgia. If there is anything I can do to make my blog my “readable” font/colour/template wise (and any comments on content welcome too, please let me know. I am in the process of trying to determine what new template to use — since I have a lot of widgets (must cut down on those — certain templates allow for more widget area.
      If there are any templates/fonts/styles you find particularly easy to read, please let me know: phylorsblog@ymail.com. I will definitely lose the black background – it wasn’t actually of my chosing. I tend to write long blogs — I’m a bambler — I will make every effort to keep them shorter. Just seems that there are times when there is so much to say. Once I get my stuff ready for sat.’s appointment, my next project is to pick a new template that’s easier to read, has shorter posts, etc. Please always feel free to give me feedback at phylorsblog@ymail.com. If I don’t know I’m making my blog more difficult to read, or the entries are too long, then I can’t make changes to make things easier for everyone.
      And, sorry Maureen, to highjack your blog! Hope you are feeling better soon. I find showers or baths comforting, and the steam can help loosen up the sinuses. And, I like your new template, colour scheme, font, etc.
      Take good care of yourself. Sending you, your family, and everyone else “under the weahter” healing (((((hugs))))).

        • I make so many typos, it’s crazy. I am usually in bed when I’m on the computer and I eat granola bars and bagels when I’m typing. I have to clean my keyboard every week or so, and you’d be surprised what comes out sometimes. lol

      • I love that word “bambler”! It is hard to pick a new background and theme and it can take so long looking at all of them! Then you find one you think you like, change it. and it just doesn’t look right. This current one took a while to decide on, but when my other Addison Girl picture didn’t fit, it took me ages to find the new picture. Blogging….it takes a lot out of you!!

What do you think? I love comments....a whole bunch!

