ma santaOur Family has a secret.  It’s a pretty big secret.  But I think it is time to tell.

You see, our Mother is Mrs. Santa Claus.  The real deal.

In the late 1960′s my Mom, dressed as Mrs. S.C, would go to the homes of her friends, the Ladies in her Womens’ Club, and hand out parent provided gifts.  It was very exciting for me because I was allowed to go a few times.  My SIS would drive and I would sit in the back seat in charge of the gifts.  As time went on  I was able to drive her around town, and eventually we took my kids for the excitement also.

At first , she had a simple red cape and a Santa hat, but as years went by her costume got fancier and fancier.  The current suit is  a red corduroy cape trimmed with fluffy white fleece.  Her floor length skirt was trimmed with fleece all around the bottom, with her little black boots sticking out.  White gloves and a perfect Santa hat on her head rounded out the look.

She loved children.  She had five of her own, and was a school librarian at the local School District.   She appeared at village functions, my kid’s preschool, and random houses of the children who saw her a child.  They had their own children and they wanted their kids to see Mrs. Santa Claus.

My Mother changed into another person when she put on the costume.  Her cheeks got rosy, she walked differently and she seemed to stand taller than her five feet.  Her smile was huge, her eyes twinkled and when she put on her hat….she was the real Mrs. Santa Claus. Her jingle bells announced her arrival to all that were waiting for her.  She just loved doing it.

When I first became sick in 2001, I missed a lot of things including the fun of Christmas, but I dragged myself downstairs one particular Christmas Day  because of my family’s pleas. Everybody opened all their gifts and oohed and ahhed.  Finally, I was given a big box and told to open it.  I tore off the paper and pulled all the tissue paper out of the box.  Inside was something I had been asking for years.

A professional portrait of Mrs. Santa Claus

We lost our Mrs. Santa in October 2010.  While clearing out her condo, we found the Mrs. Santa suit.  My SIS and I just sat there holding it.  It is packed away in a special box now.

This suit will become a family heirloom.  Missing you at Christmas Ma.

